Home > AVR, electronics > Arduino controlled motorcycle tachometer

Arduino controlled motorcycle tachometer

I found a smashed Kawasaki dash in the dump. The speedometer was destroyed, but the tachometer was OK. The first thing I did was connect the tacho to 12v. It had three contact points marked IGN, GND and an unmarked one. I figured that IGN was +12V and the unmarked one was the signal input. So I powered up the tacho and flicked a 12V wire on the unmarked contact. Surprisingly it started indicating about 3000 revs.

I then Google’d a way to output a +12V square wave with the Arduino and I found this:

The next thing I did was hook everything up on a breadboard to test it out:

Using a potentiometer I varied the delay in microseconds for the off time of the signal used to drive the tacho.

I had to fiddle a lot with the Arduino program. I figured out that because I had inserted a Serial.println(val); to print out the value of the delay I was using to modify the signal was adding a bit of a delay. The next thing to be done is to receive some data over the serial port and display it on the tachometer.

Categories: AVR, electronics Tags: , , ,
  1. July 4, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Brilliant stuff – thanks for sharing! Eagerly awaiting the update as I can see this working beautifully with http://www.iracing.com

  2. August 3, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Hi There Solderchips,
    Cool Post, When I was a child I recall obtaining a distant controlled vehicle for my birthday. It was breathtaking interesting for a kid of my age. It was only a modest a particular that operate on batteries but I used several hours in the summer time holiday driving it roughly the driveway and street. For a minor autobus it could unquestionably get up to some amazing speeds. That was until not too long ago my total know-how when it arrived to distant controlled automobiles. How impressed was I recently when I went to procure just one for my kid that I found there is a full market out there where humans spend a fortune. The RC business is not limited to cars any more possibly. There are now so a great deal of possibilities.
    I look forward to your next post

  1. July 2, 2012 at 9:07 pm
  2. July 4, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

